Webinar: People with Disabilities in the Climate Emergency: Vulnerability & Adaptation

Map Unavailable

Date/Time
Date(s) - 06/19/2019
11:00 am PDT - 12:00 pm PDT

Categories


ICLEI USA is partnering with the World Institute on Disability to bring you this webinar.

Abstract:

People with disabilities (PWDs) are an intersectional population, with a range of disability types, that are present in every other group regardless of race, ethnicity, nationality, gender, or other identity. PWDs are also marginalized across social, economic, and environmental spheres – and especially in the many dangers of the climate emergency. This presentation will explain the vulnerabilities and dangers that the disability community faces, and adaptive actions we can take to protect their safety and well-being.

Register here for the webinar

Wednesday June 19 from 11am PST / 2pm EST – 12pm PST / 3pm EST

Panelist:

Alex Ghenis is a Policy and Research Specialist at the World Institute on Disability (WID) in Berkeley. Six years ago, he started the New Earth Disability initiative, which explores how people with disabilities will be affected by climate change and other environmental factors. Alex is largely focused on disaster readiness and improving transportation systems for people with disabilities, while inclusive climate resilience is a strong priority in all his work. He loves to get into nature, with several Bay Area parks on the bucket list. More info about New Earth Disability and WID’s other climate change work can be found at www.wid.org/climate

 

Email this to someoneShare on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedIn